Your most reliable yeast extract supplier


Your most reliable yeast extract supplier

Is Yeast Extract Halal?

Halal food

Table of Contents

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Since there are about 1.8 billion Muslim consumers in the world., it’s growing interest in the food industry for halal-certified food products and ingredients for domestic and foreign markets.

Halal-certified foods are moving beyond commodity-based products to include convenience foods nowadays. Yeast extract is a widespread flavored enhancer use in food processing, so is yeast extract Halal?

Read on!

To consider whether the yeast extract is Halal or not, we need to know the source of yeast and how it is feed. The nutritional source of yeast is the key.

The yeast strains used to make beer, bread, and wine come from the species of yeast called Saccharomyces cerevisiae. S. cerevisiae is also known as “brewer’s yeast” or “baker’s yeast.”

The fact behind is yeast extract Halal or not

Baker’s yeast: Baker’s yeast is generally recognized as halal. As baker’s yeast is grown on sugar cane, so it is considered Halal.

Brewer’s yeast: Most Muslim consumers avoid food products made from brewer’s yeast extract since it is a by-product of beer. Alcoholic beverages are prohibited in halal-certified food products.

yeast extract

There are some arguments on the issue of brewer’s yeast extracts in the Islamic Scholars.

Some considered it Halal. Some Islamic scholars considered it Halal if the alcohol penetrated the yeast cell and have changed to a new thing. 

And some say that it is Mukrooh and advise not to consume foods containing brewer’s yeast extract. 

There is no literature available to indicate that alcohol inside yeast reacts and switched to a new object. This is why we do not consider yeast extract from beer making as a Halal ingredient.

How is Yeast Extract Produced?

Yeast extracts are available in powder or paste derived from Baker’s Yeast or Brewer’s Yeast. 

Several steps by biotechnology to make the yeast extract, one of the main processes is to kill the yeast by its own enzyme, the cell wall broken down and discarded, and enzymes then break the protein bonds to make free amino acids. Then the liquid form of yeast extract is completed. After drying, then obtains the powder form of yeast extract.

Hiyeast-A Halal certificated yeast extract manufacturer

Hiyeast is an expert that produces yeast extract, which yeast extract is made from baker’s yeast. The nutritional source of yeast is molasses. Our fermentation base is close to a large area of sugarcane forest, which uses sugarcane as the original nutrition source in fermentation, so it is considered halal.

Hiyeast©yeast extract is a natural, vegan, Halal, Kosher, and Non-GMO Project Verified solution in food ingredients.

For more details, please visit our website.


Yeast extracts are used in various foods in our daily life, such as canned soups, meat products, broths, snacks, ready meals, etc. It is used for taste improvement and also a source of a variety of vitamins. 

When the source of the yeast on the food label is listed as baker’s yeast, then it’s considered halal, or you can confirm with the supplier that the source of the yeast extract is from baker’s yeast, not brewer’s yeast.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Ask For A Quick Quote

We will contact you within 1 working day, please pay attention to the email with the suffix “@hiyeast.com”