Your most reliable yeast extract supplier


Your most reliable yeast extract supplier

Is Yeast Extract Gluten-free?


Table of Contents

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Gluten is a protein found in the following grains: wheat, barley, rye, and oats. Yeast extract as a savory seasoning adding to our foods. We can’t know if the ingredient list without this label. So is yeast extract gluten-free?

To explore this problem, we have to found out the source of yeast. From a gluten-free perspective, yeast extract is generally gluten-free unless cultured in a barley malt medium. In this case, the barley medium must be declared on the ingredients like yeast extract (barley malt), which is NOT gluten-free.

Two different sources of yeast

Generally speaking, yeast extract is derived from fresh yeast, so is yeast extract gluten-free? It depends in the sources of yeast. There are basiclly two types of yeast to making yeast extract.


Baker’s Yeast

The yeast used for baking is appropriately called baker’s yeast, it also refers to Saccharomyces cerevisiae. It feeds with sugar. Use this type of yeast to produce yeast extract that can be considered gluten-free.

Brewer’s Yeast

The yeast used to brew beers called brewer’s yeast. Brewer’s yeast is feed with barley malt. The gluten may creep into the yeast extract when making with this type of yeast. In this case, yeast extract may not be gluten-free.

About the gluten-free label for yeast extract

Manufacturers are not required to disclose the source of yeast extract on the ingredients label, so you should read the label states as gluten-free or confirmed gluten-free by the manufacturer.

Hiyeast-A gluten-free yeast extract manufacturer

Hiyeast is an expert that produces yeast extract, which yeast extract is made from baker’s yeast. The nutritional source of yeast is molasses. Our fermentation base is close to a large area of sugarcane forest, which uses sugarcane as the original nutrition source in fermentation, so it is gluten-free.

Hiyeast©yeast extract is a natural, vegan, Halal, Kosher, and Non-GMO Project Verified solution in food ingredients.

For more details please visit our website.


There are two types of yeast extract: baker’s yeast extract and brewer’s yeast extract. The first does not usually contain gluten since it doesn’t use gluten derivatives during the manufacturing process. However, the second comes from beer, which may contain residual gluten, as it uses grains such as barley in the manufacturing process.

In any case, the gluten declaration and the ‘gluten-free’ label condition depend on local regulations, which must be consulted.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Key

Related Posts

Ask For A Quick Quote

We will contact you within 1 working day, please pay attention to the email with the suffix “@hiyeast.com”